The long-lost King

It was announced yesterday, 4 February, that the bones found in a car park in Leicester, were that of the late Richard III, King of England.

He died in battle in 1485, losing in battle as a Lancastrian to the Yorkist forces of Henry Tudor, who usurped him and became King Henry VII.

After taking DNA tests from the bones that were found, and that of the descendants of the late King, it was confirmed that the remains were that of the English monarch. The postmortem of his death was that he died from severe blows to the head by a sharp instrument, and his body showed the signs that he had been injured in at least 10 places. His bone structure also predominantly shows a large curvature of the spine… something that the late sovereign was renowned for in history.

It has been announced that the late King’s remains will be reburied in Leicester Cathedral, and that some kind of Royal funeral will be held for him… although a State Funeral, which is a right for a Sovereign, has been ruled out because of the passage of time.

Published by:

Daryl2510

My name is Daryl and I was born in October 1965. I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer's Disease in June 2011, and I was put on medication, which I believe is helping keep the worst of the condition at bay. In November 2012 I was also diagnosed with the first stages of Parkinson's Disease and I am now two lots of medication for this illness as well. I live in a secure bungalow in an elderly complex in my hometown of Sutton-in-Ashfield and I have support from the social services and a support worker who visits six hours per week to help me live my life as independently as possible. Visit me on my Facebook page... I love life now, and the people in it - so show your support for me and the organisations that support dementia and Parkinson's disease - let's make this small world of ours a much more pleasant place to live in by caring for those that need that little bit more help in life! My Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/daryl.lees Alzheimer's Society: http://www.alzheimers.org.uk/ Parkinson's: http://www.parkinsons.org.uk/

Categories News and Events...Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

