Long time… no see!

I am doing an update here… the first one in quite a long time – my apologies.

Because of my condition, it is hard to remember that I have this blog. I have been using it now for nearly three years, before my diagnosis with early onset Alzheimer’s Disease. 

I am going to update now, and put in as much information as I remember.

In May this year I started my first respite care at the Oakdene residential care home in Mansfield. I was in for a week, and I had my own room, with ensuite toilet and its own lock, which allowed me my own privacy, but access was permissible to the carers on duty at the carehome. I had my meals inclusive with the stay as well, which included breakfast, lunch, evening tea and a snack at supper. I could have access to any hot drinks I wanted as well.

The carehome is a place for people with mental health issues who are under the age of 65 years old. I however, got on quite well with most of the residents there, but there were some that, because of their mental health issues, you couldn’t strike a relationship up with.

For the first two days I was there, I did nothing but sleep – I couldn’t believe how physically and mentally I was exhausted. Because I help care for my mother and stepfather, who both have the later stages of Alzheimer’s Disease, and because I hadn’t been looking after my own health, following on from the other condition I was diagnosed with in November 2012, Parkinson’s Disease, I think the total rest just caught up with me.

I have also started daycare therapy at Willow Wood – it is a place for people with physical and mental disabilities, and I attend every Thursday. My mum and stepdad attend on Friday for their daycare.

I have had a financial assessment from the social services, stating that my daycare to Willow Wood is free with the benefits I receive for my conditions from the DWP, and I shall have a contribution paid towards my respite care when I have it. All I have got to pay towards is my transport costs to get to Willow Wood and back home, and any meals that I have there… and of course, towards my respite care.

So that is about it… I have put an app on my iPad and also on my Windows 8 so as I can remember to update my blog here – however I am writing this on my iMac using OS X Mountain Lion!

…speak soon!

Published by:

Daryl2510

My name is Daryl and I was born in October 1965. I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer's Disease in June 2011, and I was put on medication, which I believe is helping keep the worst of the condition at bay. In November 2012 I was also diagnosed with the first stages of Parkinson's Disease and I am now two lots of medication for this illness as well. I live in a secure bungalow in an elderly complex in my hometown of Sutton-in-Ashfield and I have support from the social services and a support worker who visits six hours per week to help me live my life as independently as possible. Visit me on my Facebook page... I love life now, and the people in it - so show your support for me and the organisations that support dementia and Parkinson's disease - let's make this small world of ours a much more pleasant place to live in by caring for those that need that little bit more help in life! My Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/daryl.lees Alzheimer's Society: http://www.alzheimers.org.uk/ Parkinson's: http://www.parkinsons.org.uk/

Categories Important events...Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

